Why 76% of (young) working women don’t take a leap

Angel-014(small)Angèl Nijskens is a personal publicist for public figures, leaders and professionals. Creative entrepreneur living in the Netherlands. Passionate about publicity, storytelling  and (social) media. Love typically Gen Y stuff such as collecting new experiences andsharing them on my smart phone of course 😉

Follow me on Twitter @AngelNijskens

 

Why 76% of (young) working women don’t take a leap

Ambitieprogramma

Because of my work I’ve spoken with many (young) working women lately and there is something that worries me. I see a lot of these women giving up on their career. Not because of the kids or their horrible boss. I think something else is going on, something a lot bigger.

That’s why a few weeks ago I wrote a blog about working women who lost their passion for their work. I told you I want to know how much women’s potential is lost because of this. That’s why I invited all European working women to take part in a survey about the impact of the (lack of) passion in our careers. The results are quite remarkable and unfortunately confirm what I suspected is really going on here.

First of all thank you for participating! It seems to be a hot topic because lot of working women took part in this survey.

The research shows many working women want to take a leap (84%). That’s the great news, there’s a lot of ambition. Unfortunately, the bad news is they often hold themselves back because of self-doubt. Even if this step means a significant step forward (76%), not just for their career but also for their private life.

It’s interesting to hear from so many women who are ready to “make a leap” but don’t take any action. Maybe it’s because we grow up being taught to be happy with what we have…to not ask for much or make a fuss. Of course I agree we should always be grateful (I count my blessings every day), but I’m talking about something different here. About the little voice in our head…constantly reminding us we could DO and BE more in this life. I’m talking about women with a 9-to-5 desk job that’s crushing their spirit, day by day. But also about women who feel trapped in a business that they started just to make ends meet – and have lost their passion for why they started it in the first place. Or women who just graduated and still do not know what their dream job is – let alone find one at all.

Well I’m here to tell you that it absolutely does not have to be that way! It’s not hard, you just have to know and take the right steps.

In fact, let me not just tell you, I’d like to show you the steps I took to boost my career.

My dear friend and colleague Gineke (she has 3 teenage girls) and I want tell you what we did and inspire you so you don’t have to make the same mistakes we did…

Happy businesswoman with colleagues in the background

Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

One thought on “Why 76% of (young) working women don’t take a leap

Leave a Reply

